List Of Popular Politicians Who have Lost Their MP Seats

Kenyans participated in the general elections on Tuesday August 9 and are currently waiting to know those who won or lost.

Several places already have their next leaders in categories such as MCA, MP, senator and even governor.

The results for the presidential elections are streaming in and it might take a while before the winner is announced.

A number of vocal MPs who were defending their seats have however lost terribly in the elections. Such leaders include;

Jeremiah Kioni

The Jubilee Secretary general has been serving as Ndaragua MP and is reported to have lost his seat.

Swarup Mishra

The doctor was elected as Kesses MP in the 2017 elections and has led the constituency for the past five years.

Silas Chekoech Tiren

He served as Moiben MP and he unsuccessfully defended his seat.

Joshua Kutuny

He has been serving as Cherangany MP since 2007. He however lost the seat in 2013 to Wesley Korir before recapturing it under Jubilee ticket in 2017.

Ngunjiri Wambugu

The close ally of president Uhuru Kenyatta has lost his Nyeri Township parliamentary seat 

William ChebKut

Chebkut was elected MP of Anakboi constituency on an Independent ticket in 2017. In this years elections he was also vying under an  independent. He lost to UDA’s Simon Chepkonga. 

Naomi Shaban

Shaban has lost her Taita Taveta seat for the first time in 20 years. She was defeated by Wiper candidate  Bwire Okano.

She however conceded defeat and congratulated the winner.

“Good people, there is time for everything. Well done team Bwire.Thank you for giving me a chance to serve you for 20 years. My young brother Okano, I congratulate you,” Shaban reportedly wrote on a whatsapp group of her supporters.

Alfred Keter

Keter has been sent home by Bernard Kitur. Kitur vied for the Nandi hills parliamentary seat on a UDA ticket. Keter was vying under an Independent ticket, having lost  to Kitur in UDA party primaries that were held in mid April.

Kanini Kega

The vocal Jubilee MP and a strong supporter of Raila’s presidential candidate also lost his Kieni MP seat to Njoroge Wainaina. The businessman vied on a UDA ticket.

RELATED STORY:10 Prominent DP Ruto Supporters That Lost Bitterly In UDA Nominations




Stay Connected
Must Read
Related News