5 Popular Former Governors Whose Ambitions To Make Historic Comebacks Have Been Badly Shattered 

A number of politicians who served as the first ever  governors in Kenya hoped to make a comeback in this year’s general elections after losing terribly in 2017.

Many of them however still lost in the Tuesday’s general  elections and below is list of some of them who have since been defeated following the release of the official results in their respective counties;

Evans Kidero

Kidero served as Nairobi governor in 2013-2017 before he was defeated by Mike Sonko in the 2017 general elections.

This year, the former governor sought to make a comeback through the HomaBay gubernatorial seat but was trounced by the Women Rep Gladys Wanga.

Wanga won with 244,059 votes.  Kidero, who vied on an Independent ticket came second with 152,182 votes.

Isaac Rutto

The Chama Cha Mashinani party leader is also among the pioneer governors whose quest to make a comeback was shattered.

Rutto was elected governor of Bomet county in 2013 and in 2017, he lost the seat to Hillary Barchok after  his wrong move to join the then opposition that was led by Raila Odinga.

Barchok will now serve for the second and final term after garnering 158,798 votes while Rutto got 137,323 votes. The incumbent vied on a UDA ticket.

Jack Ranguma

Ranguma’s hope to recapture the Kisumu governors’ seat was shattered after the incumbent Anyang’ Nyong’o defended the seat. Nyong’o secured 319, 957 while Ranguma settled for the second position with 100, 600 votes.

Moses Akaranga

Vihiga sitting governor Wilbur Ottichillo beat Akaranga after getting 82,313 votes. Akaranga managed to secure 42,432 votes. Ottichillo vied on an ODM ticket.

William Kabogo

Kabogo was seeking a comeback in Kiambu’s top office but was reportedly trounced by UDA’s Kimani Wanatangi. Kiambu’s official results are yet to be released.

Others who have been trounced in the recent general elections include Cleophas Lagat (Nandi) and Joseph Ndathi (Kirinyaga),

Other pioneer governors  who were reportedly seeking re-election include Joshua Irungu (Laikipia), Daniel Waithaka (Nyandarua), Issa Timamy (Lamu), Ahmed Abdullahi (Wajir), John Mrutu (Taita Taveta), Hussein Dado (Tana River),Julius Malombe (Kitui), David Nkadienyi (Kajiado), and Benjamin Cheboi (Baringo),  and Nathif Jamaa (Garissa). Their fate is yet to be known.

RELATED STORY: Blessed Or Cursed? Kenyan County Government That Is Ruled By Two Governors

Stay Connected
Must Read
Related News